

Minutes of the Meeting Held January 19, 2011 Embassy Suites, Lincoln, NE

AGENDA:

Attached is the agenda for this meeting, held **January 19, 2011**. Following are motions and formal decisions made by the Board during this meeting:

<u>BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: <u>EX-OFFICIOS PRESENT</u>:

Alan Tiemann, Chairman Dan Duncan, UNL
Tim Scheer Carl Sousek, NeCGA

David Nielsen Jon Holzfaster

Dennis Gengenbach

David Merrell

Curt Friesen

Mark Jagels

Bob Dickey

STAFF PRESENT:

Kelly Brunkhorst

Kelsey Pope

Don Hutchens

Janet Miller

Kim Clark

VISITORS:

Willow Holubek, AFAN Jamie Linn, Husker Sports Network
Dave Buchholz, David & Associates Steve Ebke, NeCGA
Brandon Hunnicutt, NeCGA Rob Crain, Omaha Storm Chasers
Holly Stutzman & Marty, 10-11 News Bob Storant, Dept. of Ag

CALL TO ORDER:

Danielle Jensen & Joe Kosiski – I80 Speedway

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Alan Tiemann, Chairman. The chairman announced that the notice of the meeting was given and published in compliance with the Open Meetings Law and that the meeting would be conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Law, a copy of which was available for public inspection and review during the meeting.

MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made to approve the minutes as amended.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

FINANCIAL REPORT

A motion was made to approve the fiscal report for November & December 2010.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

FIRST TIME FUNDING

A motion was made to suspend the rules to discuss the funding proposal from the I-80 Speedway and the Omaha Storm Chasers.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

A motion was made <u>not</u> to fund the proposals from the I-80 Speedway and the Omaha Storm Chasers.

A roll call was taken:

Aye: Holzfaster, Jagels, Nielsen, Merrell, Tiemann, Gengenbach, Scheer, Friesen, Dickey

Nay: none

By a vote of 9 ayes, no nays, motion carried.

A motion was made to suspend the rules to discuss the funding proposal from the 4-H Foundation.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

A motion was made to fund the 4-H Foundation E-SET proposal in the amount of \$5,000. Unobligated funds in the amount of \$1,225 will be added to the \$3,775 already approved in the budget under the 4-H Foundation line item. The original project (notecards) will be replaced by the new project presented.

A roll call was taken:

Aye: Holzfaster, Merrell, Gengenbach, Scheer, Friesen, Dickey

Nay: Tiemann, Jagels

By a vote of 6 ayes, 2 nays, motion carried.

SECOND-TIME FUNDING

A motion was made fund the proposal from the University of NE College of Technical Agriculture in the amount of \$5,000, out of Unobligated Funds.

A roll call was taken:

Aye: Scheer, Merrell, Nielsen, Holzfaster, Gengenbach

Nay: Tiemann, Jagels, Friesen, Dickey

By a vote of 5 ayes, 4 nays, motion carried.

A motion was made fund the proposal from NET for the Boys & Girls Basketball Package in the amount of \$8,500, out of Market Development.

A roll call was taken:

Aye: Holzfaster, Jagels, Merrell, Tiemann, Gengenbach, Scheer, Nielsen, Friesen, Dickey

Nay: None

By a vote of 9 ayes, no nays, motion carried.

A motion was made to allow staff to act on the proposal provided by the National Federation of Press Women.

A roll call was taken:

Aye: Holzfaster, Jagels, Merrell, Tiemann, Gengenbach, Scheer, Nielsen, Friesen, Dickey

Nay: None

By a vote of 9 ayes, no nays, motion carried.

AWARDS

A motion was made to cease nominations for the Media Award. Nominations were: Lori Potter & Ken Anderson.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

*Ken Andersen will receive the Media Award, which was determined by secret ballot.

A motion was made to approve Chuck Woodside as the recipient of the Ethanol Industry Award.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

A motion was made to approve Prairie Land Dairy in Firth, NE, as the recipient of the Livestock Industry Award.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

Determined by secret ballot; Ralph Holzfaster will receive the Ag Achievement Award.

Nebraska Corn Board Meeting January 19, 2011 Page 4

AWARDS cont.

A motion was made to approve Dale Hayek, as the recipient of the Elevator Manager Award.

A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.

MISC. MOTIONS

A motion was made to draft a letter to the Nebraska Corn Growers asking them to pull support of L.B. 592 due to the lack of communication and their specifics of language. A roll call was taken:

Aye: Holzfaster, Jagels, Merrell, Tiemann, Scheer, Nielsen, Friesen, Dickey

Nay: None

Absent: Gengenbach

By a vote of 8 ayes, no nays, motion carried.

TRAVEL/CALENDAR

- A motion was made to approve the following travel/calendar:
 A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried.
 - Jan. 23-26, 2011 Leadership Academy Approved: Friesen
 - Feb. 1-2, 2011 NASCAR Communicators Appr: Clark, Pope
 - Feb. 4, 2011 NALC Approved: Holzfaster, Dickey
 - Feb. 3 5, 2011 NCBA, Approved: Jagels
 - Feb. 6-11, 2011 NeCGA Leadership WDC Approved: Dickey
 - Feb. 6-10, 2011 USGC New Orleans–Appr: Tiemann, Pope, Brunkhorst
 - Feb. 9-10, 2011 I-29 Dairy Conf Clark
 - Feb. 16-17, 2011 NCGA Public Policy Approved: Friesen
 - Feb. 17-20, 2011 NCGA Mtgs Orlando Approved: Scheer
 - Feb. 17-21, 2011 NCGA NASCAR, Daytona Appr: Holzfaster, Merrell
 - Feb. 21 22, 2011 RFA, Phoenix Approved: Jagels, Clark
 - March 2-6, 2011 Commodity Classic, FL Approved: All
 - March 22-23, 2011 NCB Cooperators Meeting, Lincoln, NE
 - March 24-25, 2011 ProExporter, KC Approved: Brunkhorst

Nebraska Corn Board Meeting January 19, 2011 Page 5

>	A motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 5:00 p.m. A voice vote was taken; unanimous aye by members present; motion carried	
SUBMI	TTED BY,	
Tim Sc	heer, Secretary/Treasurer	Janet Miller, Business Manager